What I’ve been up to ……

Oh I’ve neglected my brand new blog! Sigh. I have been very involved, and very focused (a good thing) on the final module of a course I’ve been doing called the Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design. I initially decided to do only the first module, having read that it’s a great way to learn how to use Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator to make designs. I wanted to create designs from my floral watercolour paintings, I knew how to do this manually from college, but the design world has become digital and I need to keep up. Beyond that, I really hadn’t given much thought to what I would do with these designs.

bluebeautyWM

 

 

 

 

The first module changed that because Rachael Taylor and Beth Kempton  have produced such a detailed programme of designing, creating and developing your work and style, that includes how to protect and monetise your work, going into the whole business side of things, that I kept going with modules 2 and 3.

The course is over now, but I’m not quite finished, I still have submissions to do and exercises to complete.

cogsWM

So there’s been lots of drawing and painting, and collecting of ideas, as I try to develop my design style and build a portfolio.

seahorsejellyWM

Hit and miss at times.  There have been deadlines to reach and  so much technical know-how to learn and absorb. One of biggest surprises of the course is the community group. Each module has it’s own private Facebook page. Here we chat about the course, share our work, offer support and advice and become friends. In my rather isolated life this has been amazing, I wasn’t working on my own at all.

spikeypodWM

So I have learnt lots, met some great people, have a good idea of what I must do next and had such fun. Now I must go and work on some more designs. Thanks for stopping by, and I will be back here soon!

podheadblogWM

8 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to ……

  1. Hi, happy to hear that you enjoyed your course that much, hope you have time to blog more now. I really like it. TinTinx

  2. Just been surfing your blog Chiara. I love all your work. The mugs, your beautiful doodle and all your paintings of flowers, seeds etc. Gorgeous. I will tell Emilia about the doodle board idea. Might help with her IB Diploma Art over the next two years. love Monica

  3. It was a lot Of work that course wasn’t it but I agree the Facebook page was a great help to met other people (like you) and work through ideas together. Your designs are gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

