I’ve got the Blues!

This week, in-between designing like mad for a new project (that’s a secret :-)) – I set up an indigo vat and spent a lovely day dyeing beautiful blues with a dyer friend, TinTin. The vat wasn’t the best, it was difficult to activate but still came out with some great blues.

IMG_2646

IMG_2650

We used a combination of rubber bands, stitching, twisting and knotting the cloth to get our effects.

IMG_2651

TinTin is a textile artist and she was also dyeing some beautiful handmade, antique lace, strings, cords, braids and other beauties. This piece of lace was stunning.

IMG_2658

These pieces, above, were on an old damask tablecloth that she’d cut up.

IMG_2668

This is a piece I stitched before dyeing. The stitches and folds act as a resist against the dye, creating lovely marks. It’s exciting to unpick the stitches and see what patterns you might have.

IMG_2669

This is actually a blue piece of fabric, but I was using my phone to take the photograph and the colour went a bit odd. The stitches are effective though!

IMG_2670

Next time I’ll think about ironing the cloth before I show it to you. I’m still not quite sure how these pieces will be used, possibly a quilt of some sort, combined with some of my surface pattern designs printed up.

 

8 thoughts on “I’ve got the Blues!

  1. As the lady sings “blu.ooooo who who oooo” (my rendition of Joni!) Wonderful and complete fan of the creamy stitches. Not sure I agree about the ironing. I love that devil may care look! Great work and super post.

  2. I agree. That kind of dying does not need ironing. I love the rumpled look, too. I hate ironing. Also, did you say my favourite phrase,”secret project”? Will you share the results with us here when it’s done?

    1. I hate ironing too, SaBiscuit! Yes, I’ll definitely be sharing my secret project once I’m allowed to 🙂

Leave a Reply

